Kulcha

I don’t really know whether I deserve this. But, I’m really, really happy to accept this as a token of friendship. Thanks again kakCik. I’m passing this to dearest MamaFaMi and Che Mat Gebu.

Recipe today… kulcha. Came across this roti from a magazine, somewhere, but did not take down the recipe. I found this at mamtaskitchen. Kulcha is actually naan, a leavened Indian bread which is common here at our mamak’s restaurant. The difference is that naan is cooked in a tandoor oven, whereas you can grill kulcha on tawa. I used my non-stick pan. Actually I didn’t know whether I had roll it to the correct thickness. But since my kids keep asking for another ‘roti kembung’, I guessed I passed.

The roti will puff up while cooking. We had this ‘roti kembung’ with kuah dhall and tandoori chicken. I will paste the recipe for tandoori chicken next time.

KULCHA

1 heaped tsp dry yeast (I used mauripan)

250 ml warm water/milk (50-50)

2 tsp sugar

1 tsp lime/lemon juice (optional)

1/2 cup natural yoghurt or dahi (don’t know what’s dahi, but I’m sure you can easily find yoghurt at the supermarket)

2 tbsp ghee or vegetable oil

600 g plain white flour/maida

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

  1. Place warm water/milk in a bowl. Sprinkle yeast and sugar over water. Leave for 10 – 15 minutes, until frothy. Add lime juice.
  2. In another big bowl, sift flour, baking powder and salt.
  3. Make a well in the center and pour in yoghurt and oil. Add in the yeast mixture.
  4. Mix well and knead to form a dough. Using you hand, knead the dough for 10 – 15 minutes.
  5. Then, leave the dough to proof for 2 – 4 hours.
  6. Roll out to 6 – 8 inches and 3 – 4 mm thick. ( It’s a little bit tedious to roll cos the dough keeps coming back. You’ll have to sprinkle your board well with flour).
  7. Grill on one side till you get brown spots on the roti, then flip to cook on the other side.

Keep your roti warm covered in a kitchen towel while you roll out and grill the next one.

This roti can be frozen. Just defrost and warm it on the tawa or oven.

3 responses to “Kulcha

  1. Thanks my dear for the award. Terharu sungguh sebab ada juga orang yang sudi ingat kat mama ni.
    Kulcha ni, I supposed will be hollow inside kan? Kalau stuffed dengan marinated isi ayam yang dimasak dengan tomato, onion and spices. Then stuffkan dengan salad, carrot yang dihiris halus, cheese and then sos thousand island or mayonaise… pehhh heaven, I tell you. Amat sesuai kalau nak bawak gi picnic ke or bagi anak bawak bekal pergi sekolah. Memang kenyanglah. Eh…terlebih lebih pulak mama ni, sorry!

  2. MamaFaMi..

    Betul, memang hollow. Ni first time kita buat. Tekak teringinkan indian food masa tu. Next time wat sandwich plak gaya mama.

  3. thanks 4 the recipe, i saw the kulcha once in martha stewarts program and i wanted to try that recipe but couldnt get it… this one sims the same… ill try it… just 4 people to know… dhai is the same thing as yogurt… just in indian.

Leave a Reply

